Oregon Passes State-Wide Sick Leave Law

On June 22, 2015, the Governor signed Senate Bill 454 which requires private employers in Oregon to provide paid sick leave to employees.  The law goes into effect on January 1, 2016.   Generally, employers outside the City of Portland with 10 or more employees will have to provide up to 40 hours of paid sick leave per year.  Employers within the City of Portland will have to comply with the City of Portland Paid Sick Time Ordinance (the “Ordinance”).  Statewide employers with fewer than 10 employees will be required to provide up to 40 hours of unpaid sick leave (just like employers with 6 or fewer employees under the Ordinance).  Use, accrual and carry over will mirror the Ordinance.  We will provide more details on the new law shortly.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s