Oregon’s New Minimum Wage Law

Yesterday, the Governor signed Senate Bill 1532 which raises Oregon’s minimum wage beginning in July 2016. Minimum wage rates differ depending upon where an employer is located. For employers within the urban growth boundary of a metropolitan service district, minimum wage will increase as follows:

• From July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2017, $9.75.
• From July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018, $11.25.
• From July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019, $12.00.
• From July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2020, $12.50.
• From July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2021, $13.25.
• From July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2022, $14.00.
• From July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2023, $14.75.

For employers within a nonurban county*, minimum wage will increase as follows:

• From July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2017, $9.50.
• From July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018, $10.00.
• From July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019, $10.50.
• From July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2020, $11.00.
• From July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2021, $11.50.
• From July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2022, $12.00.
• From July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2023, $12.50.

*Nonurban counties include: Baker; Coos; Crook; Curry; Douglas; Gilliam; Grant; Harney; Jefferson; Klamath; Lake; Malheur; Morrow; Sherman; Umatilla; Union; Wallowa; and Wheeler.

The text of SB 1532 is here: https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2016R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/SB1532

2 comments on “Oregon’s New Minimum Wage Law

  1. Michael Gibbons says:

    Will the differential geographical rates hold up to judicial review?

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s