In 2016, there were over 1,000 reported data breaches in the United States that exposed 36,601,939 records. An unknown number of those records may have contained information such as Social Security numbers, driver’s license numbers, or financial account information. If you permit employees to access company data (including business emails) from their smart phones and… Continue reading Protect Your Clients, Customers, Employees, and Your Business With a Bring Your Own Device (BYOD) Policy
A federal court in Oregon recently held that a corporate president may be liable for aiding and abetting discrimination. The case, Baker v. Maricle Indus., Inc., Case No. 6:16-cv-01793-AA (D. Or. Mar. 17, 2017), involves claims by an employee that the employer and its president discriminated against him on the basis of his perceived and actual… Continue reading Corporate President May Be Liable For Aiding And Abetting Discrimination
Portland’s ban the box law has been in effect since July 1, 2016. The ordinance is more restrictive than the statewide law and applies to employers with at least six employees. Specifically, under Portland’s law, not only are covered businesses barred from including questions about criminal convictions on their job applications, but such questions cannot… Continue reading Do Your Hiring Practices Comply with Portland’s Ban the Box Ordinance?
On January 10, 2017, the EEOC published proposed enforcement guidance on unlawful harassment. The guidance, designed for employers and employees, sets forth the EEOC’s views on federal harassment law, and provides explanatory examples and recommended practices for employers to follow. The EEOC is accepting public comment on the proposed guidelines until February 9, 2017. We… Continue reading EEOC Seeks Public Input on Unlawful Harassment Enforcement Guidance
The first annual increase to Oregon’s minimum wage takes effect on Friday, July 1, 2016. The rate of increases varies depending on geographic location. The minimum wage in non-urban counties will increase to $9.50 per hour, while the minimum wage in the rest of the state increases to $9.75 per hour. The Bureau of Labor… Continue reading New BOLI Rules for Calculating Payment of Minimum Wage